Board of Education

The Bethel Public School system consists of five schools: F.A. Berry School (K-3), A.H. Rockwell School (K-3), R.M.T. Johnson School (4-5), Bethel Middle School (6-8) and Bethel High School (9-12).

Facilities and Location

All five of Bethel's public schools and athletic facilities are located in a beautiful 140-acre Educational Park near the geographical center of the community. The site is considered to be one of the most attractive and functional school complexes in this part of the nation. Parents find the proximity of the schools to be ideal for car-pooling, facilitating transitions between schools, and participating in the full scope of services offered by the school system. The park is the social and recreational center of the community.

Select Categories:

Circle of Friends

Circle of Friends is an innovative preschool program that integrates children with and without special needs in a nationally accredited early childhood setting. Children without special needs are accepted on a tuition basis. Circle of Friends offers developmentally appropriate programs for three and four year-olds. The program is housed at Berry School.

District Governance

The Bethel Public Schools are directed by a nine-member Board of Education nominated by political parties and elected to serve four-year terms. The Board enjoys membership in the Connecticut Association of Boards of Education. It actively represents Bethel on state educational issues and follows the policies recommended by this state organization. The Board of Education meets bi-weekly to attend to matters of policy, curriculum review, finance, and monitors the progress of the schools' learning initiatives. Each meeting of the Board includes a time for audience participation. Site-based school committees generate initial budgets for the Town's schools. The Board of Education reviews all budgetary recommendations and forwards a proposed budget to the Town's Board of Finance for approval. All budgets are subject to a May referendum of the eligible voters in the community. The Connecticut Association of Boards of Education nominated the Board of Education for the Magna Award by the National School Board's Association and for the Leadership Award.

Additional Links

Contact Information

Superintendent of Schools: Dr. Christine Carver

Phone: (203) 794-8601
Fax: (203) 794-8723